• "You'll on an' you'll march to Carlisle Ha',

    To be hanged and quartered an' a', an' a'," he hummed softly in his clipped English tongue. "Pity you won't live to see it," I retorted tartly. "You're still nursing that maggot, are you? Debating with yourself about giving me up, eh? Well that's a matter you must settle with your conscience, if you indulge in the luxury of one." "You would never give him up, Kenneth," said Aileen in a low voice. "Surely you would not be doing that." "I shall not let him stay here. You may be sure of that," I said doggedly. The girl ventured a suggestion timidly. "Perhaps Sir Robert will be leaving to-morrow--for London mayhap." Volney shook his head decisively. "Not I. Why, I have but just arrived. Besides, here is a problem in ethics for Mr. Montagu to solve. Strength comes through conflict, so the schools teach. Far be it from me to remove the cause of doubt. Let him solve his problem for himself, egad!" He seemed to find a feline pleasure in seeing how far he could taunt me to go. He held me on the knife-edge of irritation, and perillous as was the experiment he enjoyed seeing whether he could not drive me to give him up. "Miss Macleod's solution falls pat. Better leave to-morrow, Sir Robert. To stay is dangerous." "'Tis dangerous to take a cold, to sleep, to drink; but I tell you, my lord fool, 'out of this nettle danger, we pluck this flower safety,'" he quoted. "I see you always have your tag of Shakespeare ready; then let me remind you what he has to say about the better part of valour," I flung back, for once alert in riposte. "A hit, and from the same play," he laughed. "But a retreat-- 'Tis not to be thought of. No, no, Montagu! And it must be you'll just have to give me up." "Oh, you harp on that! You may say it once too often. I shall find a way to get rid of you," I answered blackly. "Let me find it for you, lad," said a voice from the doorway. We turned, to find that Donald Roy had joined the party. He must have been standing there unobserved long enough to understand my dilemma, for he shot straight to the mark. "Sir Robert, I'll never be denying that you're a bold villain, and that is the one thing that will be saving your life this night. I'm no' here to argie-bargie with you. The plain fact is just this; that I dinna care a rap for you the tane gate or the tither (the one way or the other). I'd like fine to see you dancing frae the widdie (gallows), but gin the lady wants you spared I'll no' say her no. Mr. Englisher, you'll just gie me your word to tak the road for the border this night, or I'll give a bit call to Major Macleod. I wouldna wonder but he wad be blithe to see you. Is it to be the road or the Macleod?" I could have kissed the honest trusty face of the man, for he had lifted me out of a bog of unease. I might be bound by honour, but Captain Macdonald was free as air to dictate terms. Volney looked long at him, weighed the man, and in the end flung up the sponge. He rose to his feet and sauntered over to Aileen. "I am desolated to find that urgent business takes me south at once, Miss Macleod. 'Tis a matter of the gravest calls me; nothing of less importance than the life of my nearest friend would take me from you. But I'm afraid it must be 'Au revoir' for the present," he said. She looked past the man as if he had not existed. He bowed low, the flattery of deference in his fine eyes, which knew so well how to be at once both bold and timid. "Forgiven my madness?" he murmured. Having nothing to say, she still said it eloquently. Volney bowed himself out of the room, nodded carelessly to me as he passed, touched Macdonald on the arm with a pleasant promise to attend the obsequies when the Highlander should be brought to London for his hanging, lounged elegantly through the crowded assembly hall, and disappeared into the night. CHAPTER IX BLUE BONNETS ARE OVER THE BORDER Next day I enrolled myself as a gentleman volunteer in Lord Balmerino's troop of horse-guards, and was at once appointed to a lieutenancy. In waiting for reinforcements and in making preparations for the invasion three weeks were lost, but at last, on the 31st of October, came the order for the march. We had that day been joined by Cluny Macpherson at the head. . . . . . .


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :